Reading from Rene Guenon’s Introduction to the Study of the Hindu Doctrines ~ Sankhya, Yoga and Vedanta

In his book Introduction to the Study of the Hindu Doctrines René Guénon lists six main darshanas or ”points of view” applicable within the Hindu doctrine. These are not competing or conflicting philosophical systems, as they are sometimes misunderstood to be, but are rather traditional and orthodox ways ”to see”.
The six darshanas are Nyaya and Vaisheshika, Sankhya and Yoga, Miminsa and Vedanta.
Nyaya means logic or method. Vaisheshika means individual thing and is concerned with the knowledge of individual things . ”While Nyaya treats of things in their relationship with the human understanding, Vaisheshika considers them more directly for what they are in themselves.” (RG). Mimansa means profound thought or the meditative study of the Vedas.

In this Podcast I read the three chapters Guénon wrote concerning the 3 other named darshanas, that is Sankhya, Yoga and Vedanta

Read Online – Nyaya pg 238, Vaisheshika pg 245, Sankhya pg 255, Yoga pg 261, Mimansa pg 267, Vedanta pg 276.

Music – from Free Music Archive used under Creative Commons License
Raag by Vinod Prasanna + Okey Szoke +Pompey
Haratanaya Shree by Veena Kinhal

1 thought on “Reading from Rene Guenon’s Introduction to the Study of the Hindu Doctrines ~ Sankhya, Yoga and Vedanta

  1. GLOSSARY OF SANSKRIT TERMS in order of appearance in the audio, plus Guénon’s definitions (Note: Other and/ or more extensive definitions of these terms are available)
    Sankhya – enumeration of the different degrees of manifested being
    Vaisheshika – treatment of the knowledge of individual things
    Tattvas – principles and elements in the hierarchical order
    Prakriti (Pradhana) – Universal Substance, undifferentiated and unmanifested in itself
    Mula – root
    Buddhi – Pure Intellect
    Mahat – Great Principle
    Ahankara – individual consciousness
    Tanmatras – elementary incorporeal and non-perceptible determinations
    Bhutas – corporeal elements
    Manas – internal faculty of knowledge and action
    Purusha (Pumas) – Essence
    Gunas – constituent qualities, conditions of universal existence to which all manifested beings are subjected
    Sattva (Sat) – Conformity to the pure essence of Being
    Rajas – the expansive impulse
    Tamas – obscurity, ignorance
    Nirishvara – does not introduce conception of the Divine Personality
    Ishvara – Divine Personality
    Nyaya – metaphysics of logic
    Darshana – point of view
    Yoga – Union of the human being with the Universal
    Sutras – thread, verses
    Patanjali – Author of Yoga Shastras
    Brahma – which is Beyond Being
    Ekagrya – concentration
    Dhyana – meditation or intellectual contemplation
    Yogi – one who has realised perfect Union
    Siddhis (Vibhutis) – special and extraordinary powers
    Vedanta – the end / goal of the Vedas
    Brahma-Sutras – authored by Badarayana / Vyasa
    Shankaracharya – Shaivite commentator on the Vedas (from Shiva tendency)
    Ramanuja – Vaishnava commentator on the Vedas (from Vishnu tendency)
    Advaita- Vada – the doctrine of non-duality
    Moksha (Mukti) – Deliverance
    Jivan-Mukta – Delivered during life
    Videha-Mukta – Delivered when out of bodily form
    Nama – name
    Rupa – form


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s